Thyssen exhibition: concept and sketches

I worked on the painting “M.Valerii Martialis Epigrammata” (1473-1474) below , and I redrew the animals that I found inside (a monkey, a rabbit, 2 flowers and 2 birds, the base which is an onion was inspired from the main painting of Giovanna). I did a vertical composition (each animal comes on top of the other) to remind of the vertical composition of the painting. All animals come in a profile position because the exhibition is mainly about profile depiction in the Renaissance.

Guess what? My designs were chosen. Lamps, vases, trays, booklets and pencils were produced and are currently on the shelves in the museum shop :). In addition to that, I am currently working on jewelry which will be done on the 30th, and sold there as well. Yey! So excited.

Below you can see the first sketches I did. And then are the final items I did. These pictures were taken yesterday at my final year project presentation. We were told that we could put on our table any of the designs we did all over the year.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Thyssen exhibition: concept and sketches”

  1. Ahmad Osman Says:

    Wow. Mabrouc. And I can see why they chose them; they nail the feel while at the same time being very modern and fresh. You must be feeling terribly proud of your work.

  2. Nour Says:

    Awesome work!

Leave a Reply

